top of page

A Simple Stew with Fingerling potatoes, zucchini and tomatoes spiced up with salsa.

What’s In the Fridge for Lunch?

cherry tomatoes, zucchini and mushrooms

Often I have a large green leafy salad for lunch with a limitless variety of combinations of fruits, veggies, beans and grains. I love preparing wonderful greens and combining salad “fixings”.

Fingerling potatoes make a great snack or part of a meal.

Today however, it’s cold and damp and I felt like cooking something for lunch! The purple fingerling potatoes my husband boiled last night were calling my name. If you haven’t tried fingerling potatoes, I should let you know that they are delicious cooked and eaten with nothing added (and nothing taken away!). Gently wash, leave skins on, no need to cut fingerlings, place in a pot, cover with water, cover the pot, and boil until slightly soft; pour off the water, let them cool a bit and enjoy!.. Of course you can have them as part of a meal, but, last night, I walked in the door hungry and enjoyed them as an hors d’eovres.

And, there was some home garden made gespacho soup that we thawed a few days ago. (water or vegetable stock would also be fine) The mushrooms were starting to dry out a bit, but that’s just fine.

Don’t know what to cook? Explore your fridge!

Ingredients: Today I got the extra fingerlings out of the fridge and looked to see what else caught my eye (and my taste bud fancy).  Lovely organic cherry tomatoes, zucchini and mushrooms.

Picture



Picture

Directions:

Cut up your veggies. (see picture)

To get ready to stir fry without oil, put a nonstick pan (I use a ceramic one) on the stove and set it on medium high.

First add the veggies that give off the most liquid to the pan;  tomatoes and zucchini, and turn the heat down to medium.

As things start to brown, stir with a soft spatula (better than rigid utensils for a nonstick pan) and then add a splash of the soup  (or water or stock) for a little more liquid:

Picture

Picture

Picture



Cook a little longer until the tomatoes and zucchini start to soften and then add mushrooms and potatoes and ½ cup more of the soup. Heat it through, and ready to enjoy as a vegetable stew.








And a Variation:

Picture

Picture

Variation: Cooked until heated through,  I could have been done there. But, the 3 bean and corn salsa in the fridge had caught my eye, and I knew that would add a dash of spicy heat, so in went a cup of that.

The dish was delicious and spicy. I would also have enjoyed it even without the salsa – the taste of the potatoes, mushroom and zucchini would have popped through a little more. I put the rest in the refrigerator in a Tupperware container to take for tomorrow’s lunch. An apple and kiwi will go in my bag also and some frozen home-grown raspberries. Yum!!

Don’t be afraid to experiment and be creative, and be sure to have fun exploring your fridge!

FOOTER PICTURE.jpg
arecipetypes.jpg
WHAT IS AN ADVENTURE?

An Adventure is a community-based 28-day program that can kick-start you on a lifetime of healthier eating with a whole foods, plant based lifestyle.

bottom of page